Page Turners

Here is a list of books that have been shared on KMA's Page Turners with the Shenandoah Public Library.

Tuesday, March 27, 2018

aired the week of April 16, 2018

The Alice Network by Kate Quinn alternates the story of Charlie St. Clair who is looking for her cousin Rose after she disappeared during World War II in France with that of Evelyn Gardner a spy working for the Alice Network in France during the First World War.  Both women need each other to work through what the ravage of war has stolen from them.

aired the week of April 9, 2018

Lola by Melissa Scrivner Love is about a small gang in L.A. known as the Crenshaw Six.  Their leader a young woman named Lola wants to see her gang's territory grow and the only way to accomplish that is to put her life on the line.  Will it be worth it?

aired the week of April 2, 2018

Killers of the Flower Moon: the Osage Murders and the Birth of the FBI by David Grann is a meticulously researched account of the deaths of many members of the Osage Nation between 1921 and 1925.  They were being systematically killed for their headrights after oil was discovered on their land.  It was known as the reign of terror.  A fledgling department called the Bureau of Investigation was called in to solve the murders.  A very interesting an sad account of that period in our country's history.

Tuesday, March 06, 2018

aired the week of march 26, 2018

She Rides Shotgun by Jordan Harper tells the story of eleven-year-old Polly McClusky as she and her ex-convict father are on the run from the Aryan Steel gang who have put a hit out on the entire family.  What can Nate McClusky do to keep his young daughter safe?

aired the week of March 19, 2018

Time of Death by Lucy Kerr introduces nurse Frankie Stapleton who is home to help her pregnant sister when she encounters a man having a heart attack outside the ER.  She gets him stabilized and is later shocked to hear he died.  Now she is being accused of improper conduct in his death and may lose her nursing license.  It is up to Frankie to figure out what happened so she can clear her name.

Frankie Stapleton series
1. Time of Death
2. No One Can Know

aired the week of March 12, 2018

The Saboteur by Andrew Gross tells the daring story of the World War II raid by the Norwegian resistance army of the Norsk Hydro Plant in Verork.  The Germans are using the plant to produce heavy water for the atomic bomb and it must be destroyed before they succeed in creating this weapon.