Page Turners

Here is a list of books that have been shared on KMA's Page Turners with the Shenandoah Public Library.

Tuesday, January 17, 2023

 aired the week of February 6, 2023

The Girl with the Louding Voice by Abi Dare is set in Nigeria.  Adunni is 14-years-old and loves school and wants to become a teacher.  However her father needs money and marries Adunni off to an old man who drives the taxi in their village.  Things are rough as Adunni is the third wife and she ends up running away trying to follow her dream of getting an education.

 aired the week of January 30, 2023

The Yearling by Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings won the Pulitzer Prize for the Novel in 1939.  It is about young Jody Baxter who is growing up in rural Florida in the years after the Civil War.  Jody has no siblings as all the other babies have died in infancy.  He wants a critter to love and gets his wish when he and his pa find an orphaned fawn.  However raising Flag is more difficult than Jody bargained.

 aired the week of January 23, 2023

Aunti Poldi and the Sicilian Lion by Mario Giordano is a mystery translated into English from the Italian.  Aunti Poldi has moved from Munich, Germany to Sicily to finish out her life with a view of the sea.  When her young handyman goes missing she decides to investigate.  When she finds his body on the beach she promises to hunt down his killer and in the process gets more than she bargained for.

1. Aunti Poldi and the Sicilian Lion

2. Aunti Poldi and the Vineyards of Etna

3. Aunti Poldi and the Handsome Antonio

4. Aunti Poldi and the Lost Madonna

Wednesday, December 28, 2022

 aired the week of January 16, 2023

Sadako and the Thousand Paper Cranes by Eleanor Coerr was published in 1977 but still is popular today.  It tells the story of 11-year-old Sadako who finds out that she has leukemia from the radiation of the atomic bomb that was dropped on her home city of Hiroshima.  If she can fold 1,000 paper cranes she will live for 1,000 years.  This legend gives her hope in the hospital as she folds and folds as many paper cranes as she can. 

 aired the week of January 9, 2023

Making Numbers Count: the Art and Science of Communicating Numbers by Chip Heath & Karla Starr is a clear practical guide to turning cold, clinical data into a story that will be remembered by your audience. A great book to look at if you have a presentation coming up and you want to make sure your listeners get the point and remember your words.

 aired the week of January 2, 2023

Clark and Division by Naomi Hirahara follows Aki Ito after she and her family are relocated from the Manzanar Relocation Camp in California to Chicago.  When Aki and her parents arrive in Chicago they find out that Aki's older sister Rose is dead.  Aki decides to investigate to find out what happened to her sister.

Tuesday, December 06, 2022

 Carrie's Top 10 for 2022

These are listed in the order I read them.

1. The Ride of Her Life by Elizabeth Letts - nonfiction / historical

2. Deep into the Dark by P.J. Tracy - mystery / thriller (first in a series of 2)

3. The Midnight Library by Matt Haig - fiction

4. My Sister's Grave by Robert Dugoni - mystery / thriller (first in a series of 10)

5. Last Bus to Wisdom by Ivan Doig - historical fiction

6. The Lincoln Highway by Amor Towles - historical fiction

7. The Thursday Murder Club by Richard Osman - mystery /thriller (first in a series of 3)

8. The Marlow Murder Club by Robert Thorogood - mystery / thriller (first in a series of 2)

9. The Violin Conspiracy by Brendan Slocumb - mystery / thriller

10. The Maid by Nita Prose -fiction

 aired the week of December 19, 2022

Mr. Nicholas: a Magical Christmas Tale by Christopher De Vinck.  There is something strange about Mr. Nicholas who owns the town hardware store but Jim who is a reporter doesn't realize the story that is right under his nose until his 10-year-old son with Down Syndrome points it out to him.  A feel good Christmas story.

 aired the week of December 12, 2022

The Christmas Swap by Melody Carlson is a Christmas novella about a young woman who finds the love of her life when she joins a friend's family on a Christmas house swap.  But, there is a lot of lies and half truths to negotiate on the way to happily ever after.

Tuesday, November 15, 2022

 aired the week of December 5, 2022

Djinn Patrol on the Purple Line by Deepa Anappara.  Children are disappearing from the basti, which is a slum settlement in an unnamed city in India.  Jai who is 9-years-old is in class with two of the missing boys.  Jai loves police detective shows on TV and he and his friends decide to do a little detecting on their own since the local police are uninterested in what happens in their basti.  Will the friends find what has happened to the missing children or do they run the risk of being snatched themselves?  Based on true events.

 aired the week of November 28, 2022

Ted Kooser is the former Poet Laureate Consultant in Poetry and a retired professor of English at the University of Nebraska at Lincoln.  He writes a conversational style of poetry that is accessible to the nonliterary public.  His work titled Blizzard Voices is a haunting reminder of what families endured on the prairie during the blizzard on January 12, 1888 that became known as the Children's Blizzard.  The library has the following works by Ted Kooser:

Blizzard Voices - 1986

Delights & Shadows - 2004

The Wheeling Year - 2014

Splitting an Order - 2014

Cotton Candy: Poems Dipped out of the Air - 2022

Lights on a Ground of Darkness - 2005 (an autobiography/memoir)

 aired the week of November 21, 2022

Forgiving What You Can't Forget by Lysa Terkeurst gives practical Biblically based ways to forgive others and start the healing process in your own life.  A difficult but important read for anyone who is having trouble letting go of hurt, anger and unforgiveness. 

Wednesday, October 26, 2022

 aired the week of November 14, 2022

Monkeewrench by P.J. Tracy is an oldie but a great series opener.  Someone is taking murder scenes from a new video game and recreating them around the city of Minneapolis.  The game's creators must team up with two local detectives in a race against time to stop a killer before more people die.  For fans of John Sandford, Lee Goldberg, Hank Phillippi Ryan and Tami Hoag.

1. Monkeewrench

2.Live Bait

3. Dead Run

4. Snow Blind

5. Shoot to Thrill

6. Off the Grid

7. The Sixth Idea

8. Nothing Stays Buried

9. The Guilty Dead

10. Ice Cold Heart

 aired the week of November 7, 2022

Evvie Drake Starts Over by Linda Holmes introduces Evvie who was getting ready to leave her husband when he is killed in a car accident.  She rents out the apartment in her house to a former Yankees pitcher who has lost his ability to pitch.  The two become friends but it is hard to not talk about their problems, her marriage and his pitching arm.  How can their relationship grow if they can't acknowledge their problems and start to move past them?  For fans of Sarah Addison Allen, Freya Sampson and Marie Bostwick.

 aired the week of October 31, 2022

Down Range by Taylor Moore is a series opener set in the west Texas panhandle.  Garrett Kohl is an undercover DEA agent tasked with keeping a young Afghan boy named Asadi safe.  This seems pretty easy until the Kohl family runs afoul of a drug cartel and Asadi is kidnapped.  Garrett will stop at nothing to get his young charge back.  For fans of C.J. Box, Brad Taylor and Nick Petrie.

1. Down Range (2021)

2. Firestorm (2022)

Thursday, October 06, 2022

 aired the week of October 24, 2022

The Sanatorium by Sarah Pearse is a gothic thriller full of psychological suspense inside a locked room mystery.  Police Detective Elin Warner is at a resort in the Swiss Alps to help her brother Isaac celebrate his engagement.  With a blizzard bearing down a body is found in one of the pools.  Then Isaac's fiance goes missing.  What will Elin be able to do cut off from help with a killer on the loose.  For fans of David Bell, Paula Hawkins, Ruth Ware and Allie Reynolds.

Detective Elin Warner

1. The Sanatorium (2021)

2. The Retreat (2022)

aired the week of October 17, 2022

Ten Tomatoes that Changed the World: a History by William Alexander follows the rise in popularity of our favorite summertime vegetable from the 15th century in Italy to modern hydroponic greenhouses that produce our grocery store tomatoes.  An entertaining look at everything from how ketchup became popular to why prohibition is reason spaghetti is a popular dinner staple.  A perfect read for gardeners and fans of narrative non-fiction.

 aired the week of October 10, 2022

The Light of Luna Park by Addison Armstrong highlights an interesting historical footnote in the 1920s before our country had hospital care for infants born prematurely.  There was a doctor who ran an incubator side show at Coney Island in New York City that saved these tiny lives.  It wasn't until years later that his procedures were adopted by doctors across the country. Armstrong has written a compelling historical novel about that time period.

Wednesday, September 14, 2022

 aired the week of October 3, 2022

The Maid by Nita Prose introduces Molly the maid.  Molly works at the Regency Grand Hotel.  Molly has trouble navigating social cues and relationships.  When she finds the very wealthy Mr. Black dead on his bed in his suite she becomes the police's primary suspect.  How will she be able to prove her innocence?  Recommended for fans of Anthony Horowitz, Richard Osman and Graeme Simison's Rosie series.

 aired the week of September 26, 2022

It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover tells the story of Lily Bloom a young woman who believes she has found love until her husband exhibits similar violent traits like those that she saw in her parents relationship.  She always promised herself she would never stay in an abusive relationship but Ryle is nothing like her dad, right?  Hoover's books have been wildly popular and this older title is no exception. 

 aired the week of September 19, 2022

And Every Morning the Way Home Gets Longer and Longer by Fredrik Backman is a short novella that packs a big punch.  In the author's own words it is a love letter and a slow farewell between a man and his grandson and between a dad and his boy.  Get the tissues out for this powerful tearjerker.