Page Turners

Here is a list of books that have been shared on KMA's Page Turners with the Shenandoah Public Library.

Wednesday, September 14, 2022

 aired the week of October 3, 2022

The Maid by Nita Prose introduces Molly the maid.  Molly works at the Regency Grand Hotel.  Molly has trouble navigating social cues and relationships.  When she finds the very wealthy Mr. Black dead on his bed in his suite she becomes the police's primary suspect.  How will she be able to prove her innocence?  Recommended for fans of Anthony Horowitz, Richard Osman and Graeme Simison's Rosie series.

 aired the week of September 26, 2022

It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover tells the story of Lily Bloom a young woman who believes she has found love until her husband exhibits similar violent traits like those that she saw in her parents relationship.  She always promised herself she would never stay in an abusive relationship but Ryle is nothing like her dad, right?  Hoover's books have been wildly popular and this older title is no exception. 

 aired the week of September 19, 2022

And Every Morning the Way Home Gets Longer and Longer by Fredrik Backman is a short novella that packs a big punch.  In the author's own words it is a love letter and a slow farewell between a man and his grandson and between a dad and his boy.  Get the tissues out for this powerful tearjerker. 

Tuesday, August 23, 2022

 aired the week of September 12, 2022

The Rib King by Ladee Hubbard introduces Mr. Sitwell who works in the Barclay household for the past 15 years.  He is exploited by his white employers for the rib sauce he makes and others profit from his work until he gets fed up and turns the tables.  For fans of Colson Whitehead, Toni Morrison and Ayana Mathis.

 aired the week of September 5, 2022

The Marlow Murder Club by Robert Thorogood is formed by Judith Potts after she finds her neighbor shot in the head floating in his mill pond.  She joins forces with two other women in their small British community on the Thames to find the killer and stop this killing spree in their town.  For fans of mysteries by Simon Brett, Richard Osman and Julia Chapman.

 aired the week of August 29, 2022

The Violin Conspiracy by Brendan Slocumb introduces music virtuoso Ray McMillian who has been given his great-great-grandfather's fiddle.  This broken old fiddle turns out to be a 10 million dollar Stradivarius which is stolen from his hotel room.  Will he be able to track it down in time for the Tchaikovsky Competition in Moscow or has he lost his family heirloom forever?

Tuesday, August 02, 2022

 aired the week of August 22, 2022

Uncomfortable Conversations with a Black Man by Emmanuel Acho is a book spin off of the author's You Tube series of the same name.  In the book Acho answers questions that a white audience would have for a black man.  The goal is to open a dialogue and start a conversation to work on ending racist attitudes and behaviors.

 aired the week of August 15, 2022

Good Company by Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney is the author's second novel.  Flora is searching for a picture when she finds her husband's lost wedding ring in a drawer.  This can only mean one thing, their great marriage is not what Flora thought it was.  How will she be able to reconcile what she has learned with the life she thought she had, especially as their only daughter is graduating from high school and leaving the nest.  For fans of domestic fiction like Belva plain, Jennifer Haigh and Sue Miller

 aired the week of August 8, 2022

Tear Me Apart by J.T. Ellison is a thriller that involves teen downhill skier Mindy Wright.  When she falls and breaks her leg on the course the doctors discover she has leukemia.  She needs a stem cell transplant but when the tests are run none of her family is a donor match and even worse they aren't related to her.  What is happening and who is hiding the truth? 

Tuesday, July 12, 2022

 aired the week of August 1, 2022

The Lost Girls by Jessica Chiarella is a dark thriller about what it is like to be the sister that is left and grappling with survivor's guilt along with not knowing if your sister is alive or dead.  It has been more than 20 years since Marti Reece's sister Maggie got in the car with a stranger and Marti has created an award winning podcast about looking into the cold case and trying to find out what happened to Maggie.  Now there is a new case that might be related but is Marti ready for what she may find along the way?

 aired the week of July 25, 2022

Winter Counts by David Heska Wanbli Weiden introduces Virgil Wounded Horse who is an enforcer on the Rosebud Reservation in South Dakota.  He has been asked to take care of a man named Rick Crow who has been accused of bringing heroin to the reservation.  This seems routine until Virgil's nephew gets mixed up with the drugs.  Virgil grapples with how to keep his nephew safe and take care of these problems on the reservation. For fans of William Kent Krueger, Craig Johnson and Brandon Hobson.

 aired the week of July 18, 2022

The Thursday Murder Club by Richard Osman introduces four septuagenarians as they work together to solve two murder cases that happen in their own backyard.  The police aren't sure how the foursome manages to get all the information first but they are well on their way to figuring it all out. Wonderful characterization and a first rate mystery.

1. The Thursday Murder Club

2. The Man Who Died Twice

3.The Bullet that Missed (Sept 2022)

Tuesday, June 28, 2022

 aired the week of July 11, 2022

This Shining Life by Harriet Kline is told from multiple points of view, but mainly revolves around Ollie who is eleven, his mother Ruth and father Rich who has just died of brain cancer.  Ollie is certain his dad gave him one final puzzle before his death and if Ollie can just figure it out he will know what it means to be alive.  For fans of Phaedra Patrick, Hazel Prior, Freya Sampson and Jojo Moyes' Me Before You.

 aired the week of July 4, 2022

On the Road by Jack Kerouac is a classic work of the Beat Generation published in 1957.  In the book the main character Sal Paradise who is Kerouac himself travels the country from New York to San Francisco via Denver and back again working odd jobs, hitchhiking and meeting up with friends, sharing drugs and philosophizing.  It captures an era although not my favorite read.

Monday, June 13, 2022

 aired the week of June 27, 2022

The Lincoln Highway by Amor Towles is a coming of age story that involves a cross country road trip.  Set in 1954 brothers Emmet and Billy set off from their family farm in Nebraska to travel the Lincoln Highway to San Francisco to find their mother.  But when Emmet's friends from the work farm he was on in Kansas show up plans get changed and they end up heading for New York City on the unforgettable road trip of a lifetime.

 aired the week of June 20, 2022

The Words Between Us by Erin Bartels introduces us to Robin Windsor who has spent her whole life in hiding thanks to her father's treasonous acts.  As a teenager she moves to Michigan to live with a grandma she has never met and meets Peter a high school senior who befriends her and they share books and dreams.  Now Robin is back in River City and the owner of a used bookstore that is about to go under if she doesn't do something to save it.  Can she step out of her shell long enough to save her dream and learn to accept help from others.  For fans of inspirational women's fiction.

 aired the week of June 13, 2022

Gods of Howl Mountain by Taylor Brown tells the story of Rory Docherty a wounded veteran of the Korean War who returns home to the hills of North Carolina to run bootleg whiskey.  Rory is trying to find the one-eyed man who attacked his mother and killed his father before he was born. A southern gothic tale full of quirky characters.  For fans of Wiley Cash, Charles Frazier or Brian Panowich.

Wednesday, May 18, 2022

 aired the week of June 6, 2022

The Fields by Erin Young is set in Black Hawk County, Iowa.  Sergeant Riley Fisher is sent to investigate the body of a young woman found in a corn field. Riley quickly realizes it is the body of childhood friend Chloe Miller and vows to do whatever she can to bring the killer to justice. Riley is getting strange vibes off Chloe's husband but is repeatedly told to back off.  When another woman is found dead the tensions mount.  Recommended for fans of Jane Harper, Linda Castillo and Margaret Mizushima.  

 aired the week of May 30, 2022

The Invisible Man by H.G. Wells is the story of a stranger who arrives at the inn in a small village.  He won't give anyone his name and remains wrapped up from head to toe.  When strange things start happening in the village he reveals that he has rendered himself invisible and thus begins a brief reign of terror on the shocked English countryside.  Written in 1897 this is a classic tale of science fiction.

 aired the week of May 23, 2022

The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion is a humorous look at what life is like when you march to the beat of your own drum.  Associate Professor Don Tillman is fine with being different but he wants to find a wife.  That is when he comes up with the Wife Project as a way to weed out unsuitable candidates.  Then he meets Rosie who is everything he thinks he doesn't want.  If that is the case, why is he so drawn to her? 

1. The Rosie Project (2013)

2. The Rosie Effect (2014)

3. The Rosie Result (2019)