Page Turners

Here is a list of books that have been shared on KMA's Page Turners with the Shenandoah Public Library.

Tuesday, April 13, 2021

 aired the week of May 3, 2021

Finlay Donovan Is Killing It by Elle Cosimano is laugh out loud funny.  Finlay writes romantic suspense except ever since her divorce she's had writer's block.  When a woman overhears Finlay's conversation with her agent at a local Panera she leaves Finlay a note thinking Finlay is a professional hit-woman.  For $50,000 it is tempting.  But instead Finlay decides to research this man to find out what he has done that is worth $50,000.  However things don't go as planned and now Finlay has a corpse on her hands. For fans of Janet Evanovich, Darynda Jones and Sarah Strohmeyer.

 aired the week of April 26, 2021

The Book of Second Chances by Katherine Slee starts after popular children's book author Catriona Robinson is dead.  Her granddaughter and co collaborator Emily, who avoids public ever since a childhood car accident, is distraught.  Then Emily receives a package from her grandmother.  She is being sent on a treasure hunt and along the way she will learn more about her beloved grandmother as well as her own inner strength.

aired the week of April 19, 2021

Broken Places by Tracy Clark introduces Cass Rains a former detective on the Chicago Police Force who has become a private investigator.  Her good friend Father Ray Heaton feels he is being followed and strange things are happening around his church.  When Cass finds him and a young gang banger dead in the church she knows it isn't the murder suicide the police are suggesting.  She vows to find her friend's killer no matter the cost. For fans of Sue Grafton and Sara Paretsky.

1. Broken Places

2. Borrowed Time

3.  What You Don't See

4. Runner

Tuesday, March 23, 2021

aired the week of April 12, 2021

Good Girl, Bad Girl by Michael Robotham introduces forensic psychologist Cyrus Haven.  He has been called in to give his expert opinion on a young woman named Evie Cormac and whether she should be released as an adult.  No one knows anything about her, her age, where she came from or even what really happened to her as a child.  While Cyrus is working with Evie he is asked to consult on the case of a murdered young woman.  When both cases collide Cyrus is confronted with the good girl and the bad girl.

Dr. Cyrus Haven
1. Good Girl, Bad Girl
2. When She was Good

aired the week of April 5, 2021

Miss Cecily's Recipes for Exceptional Ladies by Vicky Zimmerman starts cooking when Kate meets Miss Cecily while she is volunteering at the Lauderdale House for Exceptional Ladies which is an assisted living facility.  Kate's life is falling apart and Miss Cecily is less than impressed with the way Kate is living by playing everything safe.  She encourages Kate to try new things and be brave, but will Kate listen?

aired the week of March 26, 2021

The Big Finish by Brooke Fossey starts when a young woman slides through the open window into the room Duffy and Carl share at The Centennial, a senior assisted living facility.  It turns out the young woman is Carl's granddaughter.  Josie is running from something and Duffy knows she is trouble.  He is sure she will get them evicted from The Centennial.

Tuesday, March 02, 2021

 aired the week of March 22, 2021

Dark Matter by Blake Crouch is a thriller with a bit of a science fiction twist.  Jason Dessen is a physics professor at a small college in Chicago.  He is taken at gunpoint on his way home with ice cream from the store.  He is taken to an abandoned warehouse stripped and made to put on a different outfit, asked strange questions and put in a large metal box.  He wakes up on the floor outside of the box with little memory and no wedding ring.  Everyone at this lab facility seems to know who he is and be excited he is there.  How can he tell them what they want to know when he barely remembers anything and none of it makes sense?

 aired the week of March 15, 2021

The Last Flight by Julie Clark is a thriller about disappearing.  Claire and Eva meet at the airport.  Both women are running from a past filled with bad choices and angry people.  On a whim they switch coats and boarding passes.  When Claire arrives in California she finds out that the plane Eva was on went down over the Atlantic Ocean.  Now maybe Claire's husband will really believe she is dead and not come looking for her.  However, Eva wasn't completely truthful about the life she was fleeing.

 aired the week of March 8, 2021

The 7 1/2 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle by Stuart Turton is a unique locked room mystery that follows Aiden Bishop as he has one week to figure out who kills Evelyn Hardcastle each night at precisely 11 pm during the fireworks at the house party on the Hardcastle estate.  Until Aiden solves her murder he is doomed to repeat his day living in the body of a different party guest each day.  A uniquely plotted mystery that will keep the reader guessing and flipping pages.

Wednesday, February 10, 2021

 aired the week of March 1, 2021

Hide Away by Jason Pinter introduces single mom Rachel Marin.  Six years ago her family experienced a horrible tragedy and they are just now getting back to living.  But, when she sees a woman has plunged to her death from a bridge Rachel knows it was no accident.  She must help even if it means putting her own family at risk.

Rachel Marin series

1. Hide Away (2020)

2. Stranger at the door (2021)

 aired the week of February 22, 2021

Lost Hills by Lee Goldberg is first in a new series featuring homicide detective Eve Ronin.  She and her partner have been called to a house to do a welfare check when it becomes obvious a horrible crime has occurred in the the house.  Where are the woman, her two children and the family dog?  Eve will do all she can to bring a killer to justice

Eve Ronin Series

1. Lost Hills (2020)

2. Bone Canyon (2021)

 aired the week of February 15, 2021

Summit Lake by Charlie Donlea is a thriller set on Summit Lake in North Carolina.  Becca Eckersley is brutally murdered while at her family's lake house studying for an exam.  Reporter Kelsey Castle is sent to the town to do a fluff piece on Becca when she stumbles across a cover up by the family.  No one knew it was murder, so Kelsey is on the trail to uncover the truth.

Tuesday, January 19, 2021

 aired the week of February 8, 2021

The Wife Between Us by Greer Hendricks & Sarah Pekkanen is a story were the reader shouldn't make any assumptions.  Vanessa seems to be the jealous ex-wife who is out to stop the marriage between her ex-husband Richard and his younger love. Young Nellie is head over heals for Richard who seems to be perfect, but she can feel she is being watched and she is afraid of what might happen.  A suspenseful story about relationships and how they are not always what they seem.

 aired the week of February 1, 2021

The Zookeeper's Wife by Diane Ackerman is a non fiction account of Jan and Antonina Zabinski the zookeepers for the Warsaw Zoo during Nazi occupation.  The couple used the zoo and their influence and connections to help over 300 Jews escape from Warsaw.  Pick up this fascinating account of their experiences based on Antonina's diary among other sources.  This book was published in 2007 and the movie of the same name was released in 2017.

 aired the week of January 25, 2021

A Lady's Guide to Etiquette and Murder by Dianne Freeman is a cozy mystery set in  regency England.  Frances the Countess of Harleigh has been accused of murdering her husband and now she finds a stolen bracelet in her handbag after attending a ball.  Is someone out to get her?  Time to start sleuthing and get to the bottom of this quandary.

1. A Lady's Guide to Etiquette and Murder (2018)

2. A Lady's Guide to Gossip and Murder (2019)

3. A Lady's Guide to Mischief and Murder (2020)

Wednesday, December 23, 2020

aired the week of January 18, 2021

The Moonshiner's Daughter by Donna Everhart introduces Jessie Sasser who's family has always made moonshine.  But it is moonshine that killer her mother right in front of her at the age of four and Jessie will never forget.  She would do anything to stop the family's operation but is she willing to go to the revenuers with the location of their stills?

aired the week of January 11, 2021

The Vacation by T.M. Logan starts as Kate and her family join her college friends for a vacation in a luxury villa in the south of France.  Kate knows her husband has been acting strange but she is devastated when she finds confirmation that he has been cheating on her and with one of her three best friends who are also on the vacation.  What will Kate do?

aired the week of January 4, 2021

 

 Carries Top 10 Picks for 2020

1. Two Girls Down by Louisa Luna - mystery and 1st in a series

2. Mr. Penumbra's 24-Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan

3. The Good Detective by John McMahon - mystery and 1st in a series

4.  Midnight at the Blackbird Cafe by Heather Webber - women's fiction

5. The Widows by Jess Montgomery - historical fiction

6. The Echo Killing by Christi Daugherty - mystery and 1st in a series

7. Darktown by Thomas Mullen - mystery / historical and 1st in a series

8. Clutter Corpse by Simon Brett - mystery

9. The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek by Kim Michele Richardson - historical fiction

10. Hide Away by Jason Pinter - mystery and 1st in a series

Tuesday, December 22, 2020

 aired the week of December 28, 2020

The Lady and the Highwayman by Sarah M. Eden is a historical romance set in Victorian London. Fletcher Walker is the king of the penny dreadful novels.  But a mysterious Mr. King is gaining popularity.  Fletcher wants to find out who Mr. King is and he enlists the help of girls school headmistress Elizabeth Black.  Little does Fletcher realize that Elizabeth Black is none other than the elusive Mr. King.  They both have secrets to keep and the sparks are flying between them.