Page Turners

Here is a list of books that have been shared on KMA's Page Turners with the Shenandoah Public Library.

Tuesday, January 30, 2024

The Extraordinary Life of Sam Hell by Robert Dugoni

aired the week of February 19, 2024

The Extraordinary Life of Sam Hell by Robert Dugoni is a stand alone novel by mystery author Dugoni.  Sam Hill is born with ocular albinism which makes his eyes appear red.  He is bullied and shunned for his looks but his mother has always told him he is extraordinary.  As an adult Sam becomes an optometrist.  In his practice he meets a young girl who is going blind.  Her circumstances mirror events from his own childhood and maybe he will be able to help young Daniela.  For fans of The Story of Arthur Truluv by Elizabeth Berg, Olive Kitteridge by Elizabeth Strout or Fannie Flagg's The Wonder Boy of Whistle Stop.

The Woman in the Library by Sulari Gentill

 aired the week of February 12, 2024

The Woman in the Library by Sulari Gentill is a twisty story with in a story mystery.  Freddie Kincaid is trying to work on writing her novel at the Boston Public Library when everyone hears a scream.  A woman has been murdered in the library.  This event brings together Freddie and the three other twenty-somethings sitting at her table as they try to solve the murder themselves.  For fans of Anthony Horowitz's Magpie Murders.

The Midnight Library by Matt Haig

 aired the week of February 5, 2024

The Midnight Library by Matt Haig

Nora is unsatisfied with her life, filled with regrets from the choices she's made.  She finds herself in a place called the Midnight Library where she has an opportunity to undo any choice she made and see how her life would have changed with different decisions.  As she explores new lives, she is faced with the question: what makes a happy life? If you are participating in the Great Reading Challenge, this book would meet February's challenge of reading a book with "library" or "librarian" in the title.

Wednesday, January 10, 2024

aired the week of January 29, 2024

Raft of Stars by Andrew J. Graff follows 10-year-old Fish and his best friend Bread.  The boys decide to disappear into the woods of northern Wisconsin after shooting Bread's abusive father.  Fish's grandpa and the local sheriff take out tracking the boys into the woods hoping to find them and bring them back before something awful happens to them.  A coming of age story for those who enjoyed Ivan Doig's Last Bus to Wisdom, William Kent Krueger's This Tender Land or Amor Towles' Lincoln Highway.

 aired the week of January 22, 2024

Don't Look for Me by Wendy Walker is a thriller that will appeal to fans of Gillian Flynn, B.A. Paris and Mary Kubica.  Molly Clarke sometimes wonders if her family would be better off without her.  6 years ago she was involved in an accident that resulted in the death of her 9 year old daughter Annie.  When a hurricane hits and Molly runs out of gas her car has found abandoned.  Did she make good on disappearing or has something more sinister happened to her?

 aired the week of January 15, 2024

Tom Lake by Ann Patchett introduces Lara Nelson who is riding out the pandemic on her family's cherry orchard in northern Michigan.  As Lara and her adult daughters pick cherries she tells them about the summer she spent at Tom Lake portraying Emily in a theater production of Our Town with famous actor Peter Duke.  A family story for fans of Anne Tyler, Sara Gruen and Celeste Ng.

Wednesday, December 20, 2023

 aired the week of January 8, 2024

The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl by Stacy McAnulty is a middle grade novel introducing Lucy Callahan who after being hit by lightning has genius level math skills.  Even though she has completed high school through homeschooling her Nana wants her to go back to public school.  So Lucy finds herself enrolled in 7th grade.  Now she has to get through a school year, make one friend, and participate in one activity if she wants to go to college early.

 aired the week of January 1, 2024

Carrie's Top 10 Books for 2023

1.  Vanishing in the Haight by Max Tomlinson

2.  Viviana Valentine Gets Her Man by Emily J. Edwards

3.  The Bangalore Detective's club by Harini Nagendra

4.  Remarkably Bright Creatures by Shelby Van Pelt

5.  Burying the Lede by Joseph LeValley

6.  Lexington by Kim Wickens

7.  The Last Thing He Told Me by Laura Dave

8. Vera Wong's Unsolicited Advice for Mu8rders by Jesse Q. Sutanto

9.  The Escape Artist by Jonathan Freedland

10. The Air Raid Book Club by Annie Lyons

 aired the week of December 25, 2023

The Air Raid Book Club by Annie Lyons introduces Gertie Bingham and her bookstore. Gertie and her staff are working hard to help their community keep their chins up during the bombing of London and all the danger during World War II.  For fans of Jennifer Ryan and A.J. Pearce.

Wednesday, December 06, 2023

 aired the week of December 18, 2023

Bright Lights, Big Christmas by Mary Kay Andrews is a Christmas novella introducing Kerry Tolliver who has been talked into helping with her family's Christmas tree stand in New York's Greenwich Village.  She is dreading the work but meets some wonderful people along the way and comes up with strategies to help sell the merchandise and keep the farm back in North Carolina afloat.  A Hallmark movie in book form.

 aired the week of December 11, 2023

Wreck the Halls by Tessa Bailey is a steamy Christmas romance.  Beat and Melody have the two weeks till Christmas to talk their rocker mothers into reuniting their band if they want to earn a cool million.  Along the way Beat and Melody fall in love during their live stream reality show.  For fans of Christian Lauren, Jennifer Crusie, Sarah Morgan and Taylor Jenkins Reid.

Wednesday, November 15, 2023

 aired the week of December 4, 2023

When Christmas Comes by Andrew Klavan introduces spy turned English professor Cameron Winter who has been asked to investigate the death of a beloved school librarian by her boyfriend who is a former Army Ranger.  There might be overwhelming evidence against Travis Blake but something seems off about this case and Cameron must get to the bottom of it as Christmas approaches.

Cameron Winter series

1. When Christmas Comes

2. A Strange Habit of Mind

3. The House of Love and Death

aired the week of November 27, 2023

Master Slave Husband Wife by Ilyon Woo is a work of nonfiction that tells of the incredible escape from slavery by husband and wife William and Ellen Craft.  They are able to pull it off when Ellen dresses as a rich young white gentleman and William poses as her devoted slave. This is just the beginning of their story as once they reach freedom they participate in abolitionist rallies to raise awareness and sympathy for the end of slavery.

 aired the week of November 20, 2023

The Secret Diary of Hendrik Groen, 83 1/4 years old covers a year of Hendrik's life in a retirement home in Amsterdam where Hendrik and his friend Evert are known as quite the rabble rousing pair.  They help start the Old But Not Dead Club which gives a group of 6 friends meaning for their sunset years.  A heartwarming and poignant story recommended for fans of The Brilliant Life of Eudora Honeysett by Annie Lyons, Brooke Fossey's The Big Finish or The One Hundred Years of Lenni and Margot by Marianne Cronin.

Wednesday, October 25, 2023

 aired the week of November 13, 2023

The Last Thing He Told Me by Laura Dave is a thriller.  Hannah is given a note that says nothing but, "Protect Her."  The her is Hannah's 16-year-old stepdaughter Bailey but why did her husband Owen send her this note and what has happened to him?  The more Hannah learns the less she feels she knows about her husband of one year.  Who is Owen Michaels really?  For fans of Diane Chamberlain, Jessica Strawser and J.T. Ellison.

 aired the week of November 6, 2023

Fake Money, Blue Smoke by Josh Haven is a fast paced thriller.  Matt is about to get out of prison when his girlfriend from high school contacts him.  She needs help.  She is a forger and she has a plan.  She needs help with a heist of some Klimt sketches and a bait and switch.  For fans of Elmore Leonard, Thomas Perry, Lee Child and Stuart Woods

 aired the week of October 30, 2023

The Escape Artist by Jonathan Freedland tells of Rudolph Vrba's daring escape from Auschwitz at the age of nineteen.  As a Slovak Jew Rudi had been deported and was working in the camp watching the atrocities as he bid his time, waiting for a chance to escape and let the world know what was happening at the death camp.

Tuesday, October 10, 2023

 aired the week of October 23, 2023

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas follows a former assassin named Celaena Sardothien as she enters a competition to win her freedom.  However, throughout the competition she begins to find something dark lurking in the corners of the Glass Castle.  She finds herself wondering how to balance her new friendships while staying alive in an increasingly dangerous situation.

 aired the week of October 16, 2023

Vera Wong's Unsolicited Advice for Murders by Jesse Q. Sutanto is a laugh out loud funny cozy mystery.  Vera owns a tea shop.  When she finds a body dead on the floor of her shop Vera finds new purpose as she tracks down the killer and makes a slew of friends along the way.  Recommended for fans of Elle Cosimano's and Mia Manansala's mystery series.